Kathy Abernethy MClinSci RN


Kathy AbernethyKathy Abernethy, Specialist Nurse, has worked in the field of menopause for many years and has published widely on the topic in the lay and nursing press.

She currently works in a multidisciplinary NHS menopause clinic, as well as running The Menopause Course, a menopause education programme for nurses.

With a Masters in Reproductive Women’s Health and as a prescriber, her consultations are independent and she aims to inform women about menopause and enable women to make confident therapy choices.

Dr Heather Currie MB BS, FRCOG, DRCOG, MRCGP

Immediate past chairman

Heather CurrieAssociate Specialist Gynaecologist at Dumfries and Galloway Royal Infirmary, Scotland, specialising in Menopause, Pre Menstrual syndrome and Sub-fertility. Co- Editor of Post Reproductive Health, the Journal of the British Menopause Society (BMS), Honorary Secretary of the BMS, Member of Medical Advisory Council of BMS, Member of Scottish National Infertility Group, Former National Lead for SAS doctors in O & G and Managing Director of Menopause Matters Ltd which runs the award winning website www.menopausematters.co.uk, the new www.bladdermatters.co.uk and publishes the quarterly Menopause Matters magazine. Author of the award winning book, Menopause, answers at your fingertips and of many original papers and review articles in scientific journals.

Heather has been an active member of the BMS for many years and was first elected to council in 2004. She is co-editor of Post Reproductive Health, the journal of the BMS, a member of the Women’s Health Concern medical advisory panel and is integrally involved with the BMS website.

Sara Moger

Chief Executive

Sara Moger was appointed Chief Executive of the British Menopause Society in June 2007.

Educated at The Maynard School, Exeter and Goldsmith’s College, University of London, she graduated in English Literature in 1982. After eleven years of commercial marketing, mainly in London, Sara was appointed head of fundraising, marketing and communications for the Lord’s Taverners. She has remained in the third sector ever since, forming her own charity consultancy, Event Appeal Limited, with a co-director in 1999. Clients have included the Army Benevolent Fund, Hilton in the Community Foundation and Cobra Beer Limited.

Through her late partner, Dr Chic McCune, Sara was introduced to several medical charities. These included Baby Lifeline, Women’s Health Concern, for which she is now a trustee, and the British Menopause Society.

She brings a wealth of experience to her new role, which she sees as a catalyst for improving the wellbeing and quality of life for women at a critical stage of their life,
Sara is an avid traveller – who has particular affection for India and France – and she enjoys cooking, the theatre, cinema and armchair rugby and cricket (sometimes).

British Menopause Society Trustees, 2018/2019

Kathy Abernethy, Chairman
Gill Cheesbrough
Heather Currie
Haitham Hamoda, Chairman Elect
Tim Hillard
Jane Moody
Eddie Morris
Nick Panay
Joan Pitkin
Patrick Shervington
John Stevenson 

Sara Moger, Chief Executive, (ex officio)

British Menopause Society Medical Advisory Council, 2018/2019

Kathy Abernethy, Harrow, Chairman
Haitham Hamoda, London, Chairman Elect

Paula Briggs, Liverpool
Melanie Davies, London
Pratima Gupta, Birmingham
Annie Hawkins, Portsmouth
Tim Hillard, Poole
Mary Ann Lumsden, Glasgow
Anne MacGregor, London
Jo Marsden, London
Lynne Robinson, Birmingham
Mike Savvas, London
Keith Spowart, Glasgow

Sara Moger, Chief Executive, (ex officio)

Past Chairmen of the Society

1989-91 Mr Tony Parsons
1991-93 Mr Malcolm Whitehead
1993-95 Dr John Stevenson
1995-97 Mr David Sturdee
1997-99 Professor David Purdie
1999-01 Professor David Barlow
2001-03 Professor Linda Cardozo
2003-05 Miss Joan Pitkin
2005-07 Professor John Studd
2007-09 Mr Tim Hillard
2009-11 Professor Mary Ann Lumsden
2011-13 Mr Nick Panay
2013-15 Mr Eddie Morris
2015-17 Dr Heather Currie

Post Reproductive Health journal


Heather Currie, Dumfries, UK
Edward Morris, Norwich, UK

Associate Editor:

Tony Mander, Manchester, UK

News editor:

Simon Brown, Harrogate, UK